Fruits Basket Friday- Intro

Every Friday I am going to review a volume of Fruits Basket 😀 (until I run out of them, of course). It has been awhile since I read the series but I remember being very impatient while I waited for volumes to come out. I was very emotionally attached to the characters because I found the series when I needed it most. Now I am going to go straight back to the beginning and share the ride with you guys, so hop along for Fruits Basket Fridays!

[Note: These reviews will contain spoilers.]

First of all, a little introduction to the series. Fruits Basket is a manga series which premièred in 1999. It was created, written and drawn by Natsuki Takaya and originally serialised in Hana to Yume. The series ended up being twenty-three volumes long in tankōbon form. There is an anime series based on it and plenty of cute merchandise around the internet. Fruits Basket had and has a huge fan base and I will always remember it as the first manga series I ever got in to. Fruits Basket has a lot of heart. The overall premise is as follows:

A family with an ancient curse…

And the girl who will change their lives forever…

Tohru Honda was an orphan with no place to go until the mysterious Sohma family offered her a place to call home. Now her ordinary high school life is turned upside down as she is introduced to the Sohma’s world of magical curses and family secrets. 

Look out for my thoughts on volume one next Friday.

2 responses to “Fruits Basket Friday- Intro

  1. Fruits Basket was my very first anime, so it has a special place in my heart. I’m also currently reading the manga, which is repeatedly breaking my heart and putting it back together. There’s just so much heart and warmth in the story of Fruits Basket that I can’t help but love it. I look forward to your reviews 🙂

    • I love the anime, I always watch the ‘A Solitary New Year’ episode at some point on New Years Eve.
      Fruits Basket is certainly a roller-coaster of emotions. There are particular bits that I’m itching to re-read but I’m forcing myself to experience it from the start again. Hopefully we can trade notes on characters and story lines as I go along 😉

Leave a Reply

