My Top Ten Anime Series

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a topic for a Top Ten list. Check out the link to see what topics they have planned for the coming weeks.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Favorite Movies or TV Shows’. I have decided to narrow down the TV series element of the prompt to anime. So today I’m sharing my personal top ten favourite anime shows.

Ren's Top Ten Anime Shows (2)

1) Clannad & Clannad After Story

I cried the first time I watched  Clannad. It was too much for me, in a good way. The Clannad anime is based on the visual novel of the same name. It follows Tomoya, a troublesome student, and the relationships he develops with the people around him. There’s a strong emphasis on the relationships he forms with the girls as the original game had a strong romance element. It’s a sweet and touching story. In this series both tragedy and joy occur in a realistic and, simultaneously, fantastical world.

I love revisiting this story, it’s definitely a favourite of mine.

2) Fruits Basket

A young woman called Tohru is living in a tent in order to not inconvenience her extended family with her presence after her mother’s death. But she has set up camp on land owned by the Sohma family who have a dark secret. Tohru’s life soon becomes bound with that of the Sohma’s after she discovers the truth behind their curse.

Sweet, funny,  deceptively dark and quite touching, Fruits Basket was the second anime series I seriously invested in. The manga was a big part of my life for a while so I had to watch the anime. However, whilst I love this anime I would really love a Fruits Basket remake that covered the later manga volumes.

3) Ouran High School Host Club

A scholarship student stumbles into a music room only to find it occupied by the school’s resident Host Club. After breaking a VERY expensive vase Haruhi is forced to work at the Host Club until she can recuperate the debt. Much cross-dressing hilarity ensues.

This series is my go-to anime if I need to be cheered up. I can’t watch an episode  without wanting to laugh at some point. From the twins’ hi-jinks to Tamaki’s charm, I love the Host Club characters through and through.

4) Kuroko’s Basketball

Kuroko was once a member of the Generation of Miracles, a well-renowned basketball team. But he was the invisible man. Now he attends Seirin High and wants to put his shadow skills to good use again by joining their basketball team.  How will he fare against his previous team mates? Can his new team understand and use his unique set of skills? Can Kuroko develop his basketball techniques further? All these questions and more are explored in this anime series.

I don’t usually watch sports anime shows but I seriously enjoy this one. The matches were  really cool to watch and Kuroko is AWESOME. I love Kuroko’s work ethic and how he wants to be the shadow that makes the light on the team shine brighter. I also love Tetsuya #2. Who wouldn’t??

270px-Tetsuya_2_anime

Tetsuya 2

5) Black Butler

Who could not love a show about a boy out for revenge with the help of his demonic butler? I love the concept, the characters and the Victorian setting. I re-watch this series frequently. Heck, I’ve even written Black Butler fan fiction. I’m really looking forward to watching the new Black Butler anime series, Book of Circus.

6) Persona 4 The Animation

Any one who knows me well knows that I am obsessed with Persona 4 so it goes without saying that I enjoy the anime.

7) Death Note

The Death Note can be used to kill people by simply writing down their name. Light Yagami, an exceptionally  intelligent student, stumbles upon the Death Note and becomes twistedly consumed by the power it gives him. This is a show with a great soundtrack, a thrilling story line and complex characters. Gotta love it.

8) Puella Magi Madoka Magica

Two girls are offered a contract by a mysterious creature: they can have their deepest wish granted in exchange for magical powers that must be used to fight witches.

This show is very clever in terms of what it does with the Magical Girl genre. I love this anime. The plot is deliciously twisted and goes in unexpectedly dark directions. The art is beautiful. If you haven’t watched this series already I heartily recommend it.

9) Watamote

Ah, Tomoko. The epitome of awkwardness. She’s a shy girl who wants to be popular but her biggest enemy in her quest is often herself. She makes me cringe and squirm at times but the trials she goes through as a socially awkward teenage girl in high school is tortuously empathisable. I always want to look away but I CAN’T.

10) D.N. Angel

Daisuke has inherited the ability to transform into Phantom Thief Dark. The transformation process is closely tied with his romantic urges which makes being around the Harada twins at school quite a challenge. By day Daisuke must try to be a normal teenager and by night he must become Dark and steal priceless pieces of art.

You know when I said Fruits Basket was the second anime series I seriously invested time into? Well, D.N. Angel was the first. I’m not saying it’s necessarily a masterpiece but it was my introduction to the world of anime so it will always have a place in my heart *sniffle*.

*  Honourable Mentions *

Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi

This BL series follows a group of cute guys who publish shojo manga. I ❤ this series. It legit got me interested in working in the publishing industry (maybe), not that I would reference it in an interview necessarily…

Skip Beat!

Kyoko is a teenage girl who is in love with her childhood friend Sho. Sho becomes a pop idol and promptly dumps Kyoko which opens up a pandora’s box of pure RAGE in Kyoko’s heart. Kyoko becomes determined to outshine Sho at his own game by becoming a successful actress. Her vengeful motivation for acting doesn’t impress Ren, a famous actor at the same talent agency as Kyoko, but despite cold beginnings the two actors gradually grow closer…I found this series to be very addictive. Plus, REN! (Not me Ren, but REN-REN.)

 Feel free to recommend anime shows to me in the comments.

Ren x

13 responses to “My Top Ten Anime Series

  1. I’ve never really watched anime, but these look so cool. I have a couple of friends who are obsessed–so maybe I’ll get into it, too. For a first time anime person, which one would you suggest?

    • Fruits Basket is a pretty popular starter anime, or at least it was when I first got into it. Some of it depends on your preferences, if you like comedy, supernatural elements and a touch of romance try Fruits Basket, or for comedy romance and tragedy try Clannad, or if you’d like to try an intense thriller try Death Note. Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood is another big name anime that has action, comedy, strong fantasy elements and a great storyline.

      If I was to start from the beginning though, I might pick between Ouran High School Host Club (light storyline, very funny) and Black Butler (dark, Victorian and cool).

  2. I never got into Black Butler!
    Death Note is one of the greatest animes ever! I was sad for Light! (It was beyond me how everybody was cheering for L/Near to win!)
    I was surprised not to see FMA Brotherhood in your list! It’s a really,really good anime!
    I also loved watching the three seasons of Jigoku Shoujo ( Hell Girl ).
    I’m also a fan of Naruto Shippuuden,but I’m bored with the unrealistic plot twists which make no sense at all…

    • FMA Brotherhood is great, I’m about half way through it at the moment so I’m holding out from adding it to my favourite list until the end.

      Light is one of my favourite characters to discuss with people. He’s very interesting!! Death Note has one of the best concepts I’ve ever seen in anime.

      I’ve actually never watched Naruto. I’ve seen the dvds and merchandise all over the place but the sheer size of the series puts me off starting it (the same with Bleach). I think I’ve put it off so far because I know getting into it would require a big commitment of time at this point but I would like to give it a go one of these days all the same.

  3. It’s sports anime like Kurobasu that makes me want to follow up with Haikyuu and Daiya no Ace (except maybe not this one cause…well, I’m just anti-baseball for some reason). Except I’ll probably opt to read the manga instead…eventually, maybe, since I haven’t watched anime in forever (aside from Shingeki).

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • I really want to give Haikyuu a go. I’ve read a few reviews of it and after Kurobasu I’m very tempted by it. I have to agree with being a bit put off by Daiya no Ace because of the baseball element. I think for me the thing is that whilst I’ve never followed the sports the other two animes are based on, I at least have an idea of how the sport works which I don’t with baseball.

  4. Ooooh, great list! I loved Clannad, Fruits Basket, Death Note (obvs), and Madoka!! I watched a bit of Black Butler and it started off REALLY interesting, but I got kinda bored with it. 😦 Watamote looks like something I might like. Thanks for sharing this list. I’m going to bookmark it so I can look into these others!

    • I’d love to see a list of your top anime shows, Kelley! I like your taste in them ;). If you ever have some spare time it might be worth checking out the new Book of Circus Black Butler series because you might find it more gripping? It’s truer to the manga as well. The first series starts off true and then goes off on it’s own track part way through. Definitely check out Watamote! Your welcome 😀

      • Yeah, I might try out Black Butler again. So many shows, never enough time! xD

        But yeah, my all-time favorites are Death Note, Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood, Attack on Titan, Cowboy Bebop, Berserk, Reign the Conqueror, Aeon Flux… I know there are more but I can’t think of them right now!

  5. Hmm, now I want to make my own list! (will probably do it sooo~n) I haven’t seen all of these, but I too loved Fruits Basket, Ouran Koukou, D.N. Angel, Death Note(like Kelley said, obvs) and Kuroshitsuji. Speaking of Kuroshitsuji, are you watching the Circus arc?

    + My favorite is Junjou Romantica (Usagi+Misaki) but I love Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi too 🙂

    • I hope you do, I’d love to read it! I am indeed watching the Circus arc of Kuroshitsuji. It’s one of my favourite arcs in the manga so I was highly anticipating it. I’m very glad they revisited the series to animate this arc. The title sequence alone gets me in the zone!
      I watched Junjou Romantica first. It was airing on youtube an episode a week and I remember it being my big treat of the week for ages!

  6. Pingback: End of Year Bookish Survey 2014 | Fearless Facade·

Leave a Reply

