Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir (1)

Author: Sarah J. Maas||Publisher: Bloomsbury||Pages: 563||Source: Kindle Purchase

The Blurb:

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

This third novel in the Throne of Glass sequence, from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, is packed with more heart-stopping action, devastating drama and swoonsome romance, and introduces some fierce new heroines to love and hate. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones.

We are three novels into the Throne of Glass series and Maas continues to craft a riveting story. This is my favourite installment in the series so far. Heir of Fire brings a lot of new stuff to the table. New characters, places, species, beasts and magic lore are pulled into play. The atmosphere of impending war is greatly increased by the expanse of space this story covers, our lead characters are all over the map and it’s great. There are three main plot threads in this book (or four if you count Dorian’s journey as separate to Chaol’s). We have Celaena and Rowan in one plot thread as they take up residence not far from the Fae heartland, Chaol and Aedion in Adarlan in another, and finally Manon and Abraxos’s story in the mountains. We get introduced to a lot of new characters this time round and I loved all of them in different ways, although it admittedly took a while for me to warm to Manon but by the end I was enthralled by her too.

Manon is an ironteeth witch. She is cold, heartless and incredibly driven when we first meet her. Her part of the story isn’t too closely tied with that of the other two plot threads, but is very relevant to the overall scheme of things. This book is more of a setup for her character than anything else. She develops a heck of a lot during this book, she’s definitely a different woman by the end in a way that I think will make her future reactions to events a tad unpredictable, at least in the eyes of her fellow witches.  I’m very intrigued to see how Maas will weave her into the overarching story in future books.

Celaena’s plot thread is for the most part is about training. She’s very emotionally broken at the start of the book but before she knows it Rowan, Fae warrior extraordinaire and professional grumpy pants (at times), scrapes her off the streets and takes her to Maeve. Maeve basically says ‘train with my  warrior and when you’re good enough to come to my castle I’ll give you some info that will help you save the world’. Celaena goes on a harsh journey to find her strength again, and when she’s back she’s ten times stronger than she was before. We even get  some flashbacks to Celaena’s childhood, I especially enjoyed the Anastasia feel of these scenes. I love Celaena more with every installment in this series.

But what about this new Rowan character? Well, I grew to love Rowan during Celaena’s sections. I wasn’t sure what to make of his harsh attitude and behaviour at first. He can be stoic and quiet, but also rough and loyal. It was his loyalty to what he believes in that won me over. He reminded me a lot of my puppy (she loves me like mad but she can be a bit rough sometimes). The thing about Fae is that they are animalistic in nature. The way people smell affects how they treat them and they are not afraid to bite each other to prove a point, for example. Getting to understand Fae helped me understand Rowan better. The way the Fae and demi-Fae live and interact definitely offers a big change of pace from the court we spent so much time around in the previous two books.

The other new character that really stood out for me is Aedion. He’s introduced as the King’s pet Wolf of the North, and he bears a striking resemblance to Celaena ;). Aedion and his political machinations were at times my favourite parts of the novel. He interacts with Chaol and Dorian back in Adarlan in interesting ways. I imagine he will prove pretty integral in future installments, if terrible things don’t happen to him before he can leave his mark. There’s no doubt about it that Aedion plays a very dangerous game during the course of Heir of Fire.

Chaol and Dorian also live life on the edge in their own way, although they do so rather separately from each other for the most part. Chaol is finding it hard to adapt to the new status quo. He doesn’t have the clarity of mind to be able to stand up and say THIS is what I personally believe in at the beginning of the book. He’s a bit of a lost puppy but he does still manage to be useful, so that’s something. I think the fourth Throne of Glass book will be the one where he truly grows up. Dorian meanwhile has already grown up. I respected him a lot as a person in this book. I do have to say though that certain things involving his story-line kind of killed me inside. I may have almost wept.

This book is the ‘REALLY BAD THINGS ARE BREWING’ book of the series. We get hints and samples of what is to come while our characters are busily leveling themselves up to handle the future.

I kind of regret not waiting for this series to be finished before reading it because I NEED to know what happens next. I’m not sure if I can handle the ending of Heir of Fire. There are so many things to be sorted out in the next few books and I’m not certain they will all be resolved in a happy way. That’s part of the awesomeness of this series: things get gritty, dirty and dangerous. Maas never backs away from showing the cruelties of life under a tyrant.

She was Aelin Ashryver Galathynius—-and

Ren x

P.S. Have a song:

Advertisements

4 responses to “Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Loved reading your review! I agree with pretty much everything – this is my fave of the series so far too! I loved how much the characters developed and how dark the story got – definitely there’s lots to be explored in the next books. When I first read Throne of Glass, I didn’t realize how epic this series would turn out to be! I do kind of wish I could have waited to read this until it was over too though because waiting for each book is excruciating!

    • Thank you!!! :3

      I do love a dark story. I think one of the hardest things about it all is that we are, like, years away from the conclusion and it’s bound to get even darker if the progression from Throne of Glass to Heir of Fire is anything to go by. I think it’s a good example of a series done right because Maas isn’t one to show all of her cards in one go. Throne of Glass was fun and exciting, but I couldn’t guess that she would make it so epic as the books go on.

  2. Pingback: End of Year Bookish Survey 2014 | Fearless Facade·

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR | The Grand and Obscure·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s