End of Year Bookish Survey 2014

2014 has ended so it’s time to review the year via The Perpetual Page-Turner’s End of Year Survey! (Graphics and questions are from The Perpetual Page-Turner)

2014-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984

reading-stats-2014-1024x278

Number Of Books You Read: I don’t actually know? I want to keep better records next year.
Number of Re-Reads: Maybe three I can think of off the top of my head.
Genre You Read The Most From: I have a feeling it’s fantasy. No, wait. I know it’s fantasy.

best-YA-books-2014-1024x278

  1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

(If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison (AKA Sarah Monette). I still cannot manage a coherent review of this book, my love for it is that overwhelming.

  1. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I know it’s loved by a lot of people, and I did enjoy the beginning, but I never finished it and I don’t feel the need to pick it up again.

  1. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014? 

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. In general I tend to steer away from contemporary books but I did pick up Fangirl because of the fandom themes in it and I enjoyed it, which then made me read Eleanor and Park as well, which I also enjoyed, so they both surprised me in a good way.

  1. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

I pushed Angelfall by Susan Ee on a few of my friends and they loved it, HUZZAH! A win for twisted tales of angels and cannibalism!

  1. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

Best series I started: DOCTRINE OF LABYRINTHS BY SARAH MONETTE! All the love for this series. Runner up would be The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.

Best sequel: I want to say The Virtu by Sarah Monette, the second book in The Doctrine of Labyrinths series, but then things might be too one-sided?? My heart says The Virtu, but my brain says Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas.

Best series ender: I think I only read one so out of a selection of one it must win the prize. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare.

  1. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

Sarah Monette.

  1. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

This links back to question three. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell was my favourite contemporary, with Isla and the Happily Ever After a close second.

  1. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

I’m going to *kind of* cheat and say the last few volumes of the No. 6 manga by Atsuko Asano and Hinoki Kino. A lot of stuff went down and I couldn’t get hold of the volumes quick enough .

  1. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Two answers for this: The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison and The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. The Raven Boys is really fun and enjoyable reading whilst The Goblin Emperor is a warm fuzzy blanket kind of book that makes me feel happy.

  1. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2014?

You know how I said I didn’t want to be one-sided earlier? Forget that. Let’s go on a goblin spree!!!

Look at Maia’s little face on this gorgeous cover of The Goblin Emperor:

17910048

  1. Most memorable character of 2014?

Noah from The Raven Boys. You know, the smudgy one *weeps*. Also MILLY-FOX from The Doctrine of Labyrinths series. I love you Milldmay.

  1. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison.

  1. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison. (Can you tell that I really loved The Goblin Emperor yet?)

  1. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read? 

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. It’s awesome. It has links with The Dark is Rising which is retro awesome. I keep searching the tumblr tag for it, which is always a great sign that I’ve fallen in love with a series. Why have I put this book off for so long???

  1. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

“I did not make a pie,” Alec repeated, gesturing expressively with one hand, “for three reasons. One, because I do not have any pie ingredients. Two, because I don’t actually know how to make a pie.”

He paused, clearly waiting. […]

“And three?”

“Because I am not your bitch.”

  • City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (shortened)

‘Blue had two rules: stay away from boys, because they’re trouble, and stay away from raven boys, because they were bastards.’

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

‘The obligation d’âme meant that his [Mildmay’s] only allegiance was to Felix, making them a separate kingdom of two, with Felix as king and Mildmay as ministers, army, and populace all combined in one. A stormy little kingdom, I thought, with periodic flare-ups of civil war and a magnificently unstable government. ‘

  • The Mirador by Sarah Monette

“Good. I won’t have to worry about him brooding on the battlements, then.”

“Brooding on the battlements?”

“His favourite pastime. I prefer it to pitching tantrums in the Hall of the Chimeras-which he has also done a time or two.”

  • The Mirador by Sarah Monette

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

How I did this: Went to my read books on Goodreads and sorted by page number and just looked for what I knew I read this year that was the shortest and longest.

This takes effort, guys. The truth is I’m too sleepy to work it out right now and, in the words of the muses in Hercules, ‘That’s the gospel truuuth!!!!!’

tumblr_m6k69hYCCd1qd7jwlo1_500

  1. Book That Shocked You The Most

(Because of a plot twist, character death, left you hanging with your mouth wide open, etc.)

The ending of Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas. DORIAN!!! Somebody, please, help my darling Dorian D’:

  1. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

(OTP = one true pairing if you aren’t familiar)

Magnus and Alec of Mortal Instruments fame.

  1. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Felix and Milly-Fox from The Doctrine of Labyrinths series, brotherly relationships for the win! (Even if Felix wanted to blur the boundaries sometimes…)  Also, Rowan and Celaena from Heir of Fire and the titular raven boys in… The Raven Boys.  Oh! And Cala, Beshelar and Maia in The Goblin Emperor.

  1. Favourite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

 Heir of Fire?

  1. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

People don’t pressure me a lot. I guess the reviews, discussions and mentions of The Raven Boys popping up in posts on some of my favourite blogs ‘pressured’ me into reading it indirectly. Also, I started reading Tokyo Ghoul after pressure from Lesley Marie!

  1. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

I want to say Thranduil, as presented in The Hobbit movies. Did you see him and his mighty moose in The Battle of Five Armies???  But if I have to stick to the specifics of the question then I will say Milly and Magnus, maybe? I don’t know. I’d prefer to be their friends, to be honest.  Hmmm. Alright. I’m going to go with Gansey from The Raven Boys.

  1. Best 2014 debut you read?

You know, I’m not sure if I read any 2014 debuts?

  1. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

I’m going for vivid setting for this one and choosing Isla and the Happily Ever by Stephanie Perkins for how it invokes Paris and Barcelona.

  1. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Isla and the Happily Ever After. I mean, the title alone guaranteed me a happy ending so none of the drama in it got me down. I was there for the cute romance <3.

The Virtu by Sarah Monette made me smile even though it also crushed my soul (see Q.28).

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell was also quite fun.

  1. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

Cry? A Rens soul can be crushed, but cry? Rens do not cry. Rens are fearless beasts.

  1. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

The whole Doctrine of Labyrinths series. They are old books and some of them are out of print but they are brilliant. I’d love for more people to know about them.

  1. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

 Mélusine and The Virtu. Oh, the drama and WHY CAN’T FELIX AND MILLY-FOX FIND HAPPINESS? There was torture and betrayal and all sorts. My soul is still flat from it all. Heir of Fire didn’t help either. That ending for Dorian…

  1. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

I pick The Goblin Emperor for its use of language, dawdling yet riveting plot and hopeful message.

  1. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Some sections in the Doctrine of Labyrinths series where Felix (sometimes intentionally and sometimes unintentionally) hurts my dear Milly-Fox. No one hurts my Milly-Fox.

book-blogging-1024x278

  1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014? 

I have many. Too many to list, actually, so I will just provide a sample of my favourites:

(For some reason after Cayce I felt the need to indulge in alliteration. Soz.)

  1. Favourite review that you wrote in 2014? 

My favourite is a movie review I wrote of The Wolf Children, mostly because I love the film and like that there are pictures of it on my blog.

  1. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

My Death Note discussion post, I should definitely get round to writing another one soon.

  1. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

LGBT Month run by Laura and Cayce.  There were loads of great discussions and posts, plus great book recs. I’ve never been such an active blogger as I was during that month.

  1. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

Working at a bookshop over Christmas. All the books, all the time!

  1. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

 My Top Ten Anime Series post.

  1. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Ummm. My Book Soundtrack post, maybe?

  1. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I’m picking a bookish item: Book Blankets. Well, it calls itself a ‘book cover’ but I like to think of it as a blanket. It’s just a pretty bit of material designed to go over the top of your paperback and keep it warm protected, like the dustjackets on hardbacks.

  1. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Not really, to be honest.

looking-ahead-books-2015-1024x278

  1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

 Corambis by Sarah Monette, The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson, The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins and many others… I don’t know how to choose only one as a priority???

  1. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?

A Court of Thorns and Roses #1 by Sarah J. Maas by far. Give me faeries, stat! I’m also looking forward to The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black because, again, faeries.

  1. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

 The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury looks exciting and cool. I want to read it, like, yesterday.

  1. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

I’m looking forward to Throne of Glass #4 by Sarah J. Maas (a sequel), The Raven Cycle #4 by Maggie Stiefvater (series ending).

  1. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

I would like to post a blog post at least once a week in 2015.

  1. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I haven’t read any 2015 releases soooo….. N/A. What a sad way to end!

So, yeah, lots of Raven Boys, Fire, Goblins and Labyrinths going on here which is a pretty accurate description of 2014, to be honest.

Ren x

– See more at: http://www.perpetualpageturner.com/2014/11/5th-annual-end-of-year-book-survey-2014-edition.html#sthash.FMcXNuPh.dpuf

2 responses to “End of Year Bookish Survey 2014

  1. Aww, thank you for the mention!! ❤

    I have read only a few of the books you mentioned, but I LOVED Angelfall and pushed it a LOT. And I love "Book Blankets" too. Quite a few of my Japanese paperbacks wear covers.

    • You are very welcome 😀 <3.

      Angelfall is pretty awesome. I loved hearing my friend's comments as she read it! I was like, 'Have you got to the bit with the twins yet? What about the cannibalism? How do you feel about Raffe?' :3

      Book Blankets should definitely become a thing.

Leave a Reply

