On the Plus Side (2)

On the Plus SIde (2)

On the Plus Side is a feature on my blog that covers the positive things that have happened to me recently.

It feels like AGES since I’ve posted something personal, I’ve mostly been sharing that side of things on my Instagram account but I’m consolidating some of those updates here. An awful lot of things have happened since I last posted an ‘On the Plus Side’ post.

Events:

Alpaca Con

I’ve been to an Alpaca Convention. Alpaca’s might be one of my new favourite animals. They are super cute!

Comic Con

I also went to my local Comic Con, where a Storm Trooper checked my ticket :3

I spent more money than I should have at the Comic Con but I was pretty pleased with my stash. I mean, I finally got a Sebastian (Black Butler) plushie to go with my Ciel plushie. It was worth going to Comic Con for that alone. I also got two Black Butler and one Kuroko’s Basketball poster. Speaking of Kuroko, I picked up several keyrings of Kuroko characters. The award for best buy, however, has to go to the Japanese Persona Q artbook I picked up. It’s no secret that Persona 4 is one of my favourite games ever so I was very excited to get my hands on this beautiful book!

My prize purchase from MCM Comic Con. #personaq

A post shared by Ren (@bookishren) on

Sarah J Maas

More recently, I got to see Sarah J Maas when she visited Waterstones in Birmingham New Street. The event involved a question and answer session with Maas, and a signing. Author events are the best because you know everyone there loves something as much as you do. I went on my own but I made a new friend in the queue to go in and we chatted a lot when we went into the signing queue.

Maas said loads of interesting things and I have a copious collection of notes about it. I’m hoping to type it all up and post an event summary soon, even though it happened a few months ago. Maas’s answers were great and I definitely have even more respect for her now than I did before the event. I love it when you get to meet the author and confirm that they are just as awesome in real life as they are online.

Met Sarah J Maas!!!

A post shared by Ren (@bookishren) on

What I’ve been reading:

I’ve read a fair few books over the past few months that I have yet to write about or have half written reviews for. These include:

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli- This is a very cute, contemporary read which features LGBT characters. I read it in one day while I was sitting out in the garden. I definitely recommend it. It’s told from the first person perspective of SImon. Simon’s voice is humorous and highly readable, I was immediately caught by the story.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab-The world building is strong in this one. I loved the vivid imagery the book brought to mind with it’s depictions of each separate London. Cannot wait to read the next one when it comes out in 2016!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas- Okay, so. There were parts of it where I thought ‘this is slow’ but then it hit me. Those sections are just a bookish version of glamour. Basically, when Feyre is told not to trust her senses, the reader should take this warning to heart too. When I thought about this clever twist in hindsight it made me love it.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones- Another author that makes me distrust their narrative! There is always something more going on behind what the main character understands of the situation in many of Jones’s books. I loved Howl’s Moving Castle and it got me onto a Diana Wynne Jones reread kick.

I’ve read a few others but this is taster of what I’ve been doing in my reading life. There will definitely be full reviews of A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Darker Shade of Magic really soon! I also have reviews of Nimona and Conrad’s Fate lined up in my drafts folder.

At the moment I’m almost done with Uprooted by Naomi Novik, which is deliciously dark and generally awesome, and I’ve just started The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley, which seems pretty brilliant so far.

Speaking of books and reading, I’ve decided to give goodreads another go. If you want to be my friend on there (please. be. my. friend.) I am over here.

Thanks for reading!

Ren x

Leave a Reply

