Bout of Books 14.0 Sign-up and Goals

Bout of Books (1)I’m taking part in Bout of Books again this year. Hurray!

Here is the official Bout of Books blurb:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23rd in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

My Reading Plans

boutofbooks

A while ago my mum went to London and picked up a few titles from Penguin’s Little Black Classics range. Each book only costs 80p! They make up a very cute collection and hopefully I will be able to collect the whole lot eventually. Anyway, I’ve picked out three of the ones I own to include in my Bout of Books reading list. I’m going for:

  • The Madness of Cambyses by Herodotus
  • The Old Man of the Moon by Shen Fu
  • The Life of a Stupid Man by Ryunosuke Akutagawa

They are each tiny books so they shouldn’t take me long.

On top of those I plan to reread Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. I read Nimona a few weeks ago on my kindle but I loved it so much that I purchased a physical copy of it as well. I want to reread it because a) I enjoy it and b) I want to review it. As it is a graphic novel this shouldn’t take me long to read either.

I have also thrown some manga into the mix. I’m hoping to read the new 2 in 1 volume of Maid Sama by Hiro Fujiwara that was recently released by Shojo Beat (Viz Media). I’ve been looking forward to reading this for a long time.

Finally we come to the only novel featured on my Bout of Books TBR. I’m reading Swordspoint by Ellen Kushner. I actually started reading this on Sunday because I finished a book on Saturday night and I could not go a whole day without reading anything. I’ve been meaning to read this book for ages but I only recently purchased it because I’ve been trying to save money. Luckily I’ve got a job as of September so I can afford to frivolously buy and read the books I’ve been drooling over for far too long .

In Summary

So that’s six books in total, with 1,130 pages between them, that I’m planning to read.

I’m very optimistic about getting all of these books read considering three are tiny, two are comic based and only one is a full novel. Of course, if I need to change them out for other books for whatever reason I will.

I hope to take part in a few challenges as well, if I have the time. I’ll try to do two or three of them, depending on which ones catch my imagination.

I hope everyone else taking part has lots of fun, I know I’m planning to :3

Ren x

Leave a Reply

