Love-a-thon Questionnaire

loveathon
It’s Love-a-Thon time! It’s a two day book blogger event full of activities and other fun stuff check out this post from one of the hosts for a full run down.

I’ve never taken part in this event before but I’m quite excited to take part this time :). To kick things off I’ve filled in the Love-a-thon Questionnaire as an opportunity to let you get to know me better.

1. What’s your name?

Ren (a shortening of my full first name)

2. Where in the world are you blogging from?

The UK. A bit to the West of the West Midlands ;).

3. How did you get into blogging in the first place?

The first blog I had was more of a diary. I posted random bits of poetry, my worries, stuff about what I was studying at uni, etc. Would you believe that I used to post on there every other day? But that blog was very private (literally locked down to prevent public viewing) and honestly wasn’t meant to be read by anyone but me.

I’d been reading book blogs around about the same time and loved them so when I decided to start a public blog I thought books would be a good theme for it!

4. How did you come up with your blog name?

The Grand and Obscure is a name I’ve only started using this year. Before that the blog was called Fearless Facade. The Grand and Obscure fits me much better though. The name actually comes from an interactive short story I’m still trying to write where you unlock pieces by meeting specific reading goals. Then I decided to use the name for a new tumblr page and it fit me so well that I settled on it as my new blog name for 2016.

5. What genre do you read and review the most on your blog?

I want to say fantasy? Certainly most of the books I read are fantasy but there is a dash of contemporary as well. Fantasy books are my bread and butter, while contemporary books are more like cake, something I have only occasionally but enjoy a fair bit when I do.

6. What other types of posts do you do on your blog, apart from reviews?

I do Top Ten Tuesday every now and again and the odd discussion post (which I hope to do more often). I also have a few personal posts about my life like In My Bag and everything in my On the Plus Side feature.

7. Favourite thing about the blogging community?
Being able to read an everlasting supply of great discussions and posts about one of my favourite topics: BOOKS.

uprooted

8. Name the 5 books you’’re most excited for this 2016!

I can only think of three off the top of my head: A Gathering of Shadows by VE Schwab, A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas and The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater.

9. Name the 5 books you want to read this 2016 that you didn’t get to in previous years!

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, Starborn by Lucy Hounsom, The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers and Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas.

10. What’s an underrated book or series that you think everyone should read?

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison (/Sarah Monette by another name). That book is like air to me.

11.Which book boy or girl would be your book BFF?

Cath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, without a doubt. We both have a fan fiction history, share a love of reading and have similarly introverted tendencies. She also reminds me of some of my friends from uni who also were Creative Writing students in the main.

12. Apart from reading, what are your other hobbies or interests?

Currently I enjoy writing, making bookish jewellery and gaming. I also love my long dog walks and watching lots of anime at the end of a long day.

kingdom orthissat

13. Apart from book shopping, what else do you like shopping for?

Clothes, films, notebooks, stationary, and video games. Video games in particular are my expensive kryptonite. I love my 3DS and PS Vita!

14. At a party, the DJ suddenly changes the song – and it’’s your song.

What song would be playing?

Which Witch by Florence + The Machine.

15. Pick out either a book you want turned into a film/TV show, or a film/TV show you want turned into a book.

For some reason I want a super stylish A Tale of Two Cities movies. I would also love a tv series based on The Watchmaker of Filigree Street, a lush BBC one!

16. What would your dream library look like?

First of all it would share some common features with my bedroom: Bunting, blue colour scheme for the walls and for curtains, cushions, etc. Also there would be a giant map on one wall. Apart from that there would big snuggly chairs and loads of tall bookcases where you need those ladders that slide on tracks to get to the top, like in Bedknobs and Broomsticks!

Well, that’s my answers! Thanks for reading :3

Ren x

 

4 responses to “Love-a-thon Questionnaire

  1. I hope you get to read Queen of Shadows soon! I know that it’s been getting a mixed response, but it’s so good and I hope you like it as much as I did. Also, definitely read Six of Crows! That book is snappy, fast-paced, fun and just BRILLIANT. Happy Love-A-Thon!

  2. Don’t forget the endless support from the book community! ;D

    Six of Crows is an absolute must! That thieving crew holds such a big place in my heart!

Leave a Reply

