Bookish Crafts

Bookish Crafts

Recently I’ve been looking for ways to deal with my stress and anxiety. In terms of general relaxation, reading and gaming help take my mind off of life. To supplement these distractions, however,  I’ve been looking into other avenues of stress relief. Thus I have taken up various crafing activities.

The Necklace

It started with a necklace. A few weeks ago I had a reading marathon of The Captive Prince trilogy by CS Pacat and it was marvelous. Whilst I was reading, one line really struck me: “A Kingdom, or this.” I looked on etsy to see if anyone had put the quote on a piece of jewelry but I couldn’t find any at the time. But that didn’t matter when I could make one for myself! Never mind that I’ve never made such a thing before.

It took me a few days to pull together the materials but once I had the stuff it didn’t take long to make the necklace:

 

Expert finish? Not at all. But it’s my little creation and I wear it pretty much every day. It makes me super happy to be able to carry a bit of this book with me and know that I made the necklace myself.

[I also should add that no books were harmed in the making of this necklace!]

The Charms

My next crafting experiment has been to make a book inspired phone charm thingy. I got some fimo and got to work trying to make something recognisable.

I’m not as pleased with my fimo charms as I am with my necklace but I loved the making process a lot. I think it will take me quite a while to perfect these. I mean, I’m not even going to show you my attempt at Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle because it looks horrible.

But I will show you my attempt at making Kell from A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab:

The Future

I think book inspired craft projects are my new thing. I want to really work on the things I’ve already been making, particularly the charms because I really want to make at least one good one so I can attach it to my phone.

There are a few other projects I want to start, including making plush dolls and bookmarks. I’ve made dolls before and I’m pretty pleased with a Chrestomanci one I made a few years ago. I need to get back on that.

Have you been working on any book inspired craft projects recently, or would like to?

Ren x

3 responses to “Bookish Crafts

    • Thank you! Cute was definitely what I was going for (even though Kell is probably a bit too serious a character to want to be cute 😉 )

      Definitely have a go if you get a chance. There are so many different things that can be made :3

  1. Ohmygosh, I LOVE both of these! I also kind of can’t believe no one has made a “a kingdom, or this” necklace on Etsy! I mean, that is like ~the~ quote from that series. You should make an Etsy store and sell yours, because it is seriously pretty.

    I haven’t read ADSOM or AGOS (yet, I own both of them), but that little figurine is ADORABLE.

    I love how crafty you are, especially since I have no crafting abilities whatsoever XD I hope you post pictures if you do anymore – I’d love to see your plushies!

Leave a Reply

